Fat-burning cabbage vegetable kombu soup 


After a week of eating out, shovelling in the delicious savoury cooked delights that my city has to offer…

 

I decided I need a break.
When I’m serious about it, losing a few pounds and getting back to normal, I make either a mung bean lentil soup or a cabbage-based soup.

I decided to make a cabbage soup with a crown of broccoli, a chopped red onion, two strips of kombu, celery, carrots and some vegetable bouillon. 


I bought the seaweed in dried squares, added it into the soup like an herb bouquet, and then threw it out after it had been in the soup for a few hours.

Are used to to make my batch but I realize now that you only need one because it swells up and expands. The reason for the seaweed is that it adds great benefits to the broth.

The recipe is easy. I started with only a teaspoon of olive oil, chopped small red onion, 10 black peppercorns, about 10 fennel seeds and they cooked that for about 5 to 10 minutes. Then I added the chopped celery and carrot.


Then came the cabbage, broccoli and the water, of which I added enough to fill the pot, probably 8 to 10 cups.


Then I added the combo seaweed and one vegetable flavouring pack, in the form of a gel. 


I simmered the soup for 20 to 25 minutes and then added fresh herbs. I used thyme, sage, Italian parsley and some rosemary.


Drink as much soup as you can, exercise, sleep well, drink lots of water, go for massage and feel better!

xxSerena 

3 thoughts on “Fat-burning cabbage vegetable kombu soup ”

    1. A sea vegetable I just let cook with the broth. A slight umami taste, high in minerals like calcium, potassium, magnesium, iron and iodine. Improves brain, muscle and prostate function. Also contains a substance called fluoidan which protects against radiation. Good stuff!!! xxS

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh that sounds really yummy. I have made my own vegetable soups before with chilli in to give it that kick and boost metabolism 😉 adds to the flavour as well. I usually use vegetable stock, never tried the gels though??

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

