What I brought to my office Christmas potluck


Our area was given the responsibility of “appetizers.” Easy right? I don’t know about that. There are a lot of appetizers to choose from. I didn’t have a lot of time and I was taking the train to work so I didn’t want to carry a lot with me.

So I made a batch of homemade jalapeño pimento cheese. And a package of crackers.

If you have been reading my blog the past year you know I love pimento cheese.

And I always make it fresh. And if you make it fresh too and remember: always use real, high-quality, sharp cheddar cheese. Some countries call sharp extra strong or extra old. Buy the good stuff!

Also, another tip: I use my KitchenAid stand mixer to mix these ingredients. It gives a fluffy light texture to the pimento cheese.

So delicious! The perfect spread for vegetarian sandwiches as well.

Ingredients:

One block sharp cheddar cheese, grated
One block Philadelphia cream cheese, softened
Quarter cup full fat mayonnaise
Quarter teaspoon cayenne pepper
Quarter teaspoon garlic powder
One jar drained pimentos
1 tablespoon finely chopped marinated jalapeño peppers

Directions:

  1. Take the Philadelphia cream cheese out of the fridge and place on the counter for a couple of hours to soften.
  2. Grate the cheese.
  3. Put all ingredients in the mixer and mix for five minutes.
  4. Spoon into clean containers. Refrigerate for at least two hours so flavors can blend.
  5. Serve over crackers, in sandwiches, with vegetables or stir into pasta as a sauce.

Use the best quality sharp cheddar cheese you can find. Photography by Serena Alibhai
Open and grate the cheese. This cheese is preserved in wax. Photography by Serena Alibhai
Mix cheese, jalapeño and cream cheese together.
Add pimento. Photography by Serena Alibhai
Mix well to combine flavors and texture. Photography by Serena Alibhai
After it’s made, tap the container down and refrigerate over night of if you can’t wait at least an hour! Photography by Serena Alibhai
 

I love homemade pimento cheese! I hope my coworkers enjoy it too!

Here are some pics of the actual “appetizer” portion of our potluck! 

 

“Bacon jam” with baguette. Photography by Serena Alibhai

     
Spinach dip with bread and six layer dip with chips. Photography by Serena Alibhai
  

Real McDonalds chicken McNuggets! Photography by Serena Alibhai
   
Hey, there is my pimento cheese with crackers! Looks pretty good, doesn’t it? Photography by Serena Alibhai
 

What are your favorite appetizers to bring to potlucks? What did you bring to your office potluck?

xxSerena

One thought on “What I brought to my office Christmas potluck”

Leave a Reply

