Eggplant baked pizza stacks with tomato, greens and goat cheese


There was no doubt the eggplant from the farmers market was beautiful.

Photography by Serena Alibhai @serenapeace

I have cooked eggplant like this before, when I lived in another country. In Tanzania there was a large Greek population and the ladies taught me how to make a great authentic moussaka.

This time, however, I wanted to use less oil, since my diet goals for this week are to keep my food as “clean” as possible.

You see, on the weekend, I tested my body fat percentage in and wasn’t happy with the number.

Now this information is, by no means, important. But for me, it kind of shocked me. But that’s another blog for another day.

These pizzas were so delicious, purely vegetarian and easy to make.

Ingredients:

One large eggplant, cut into crosswise 1-inch disks
One handful spinach & arugula, chopped
Fresh salsa
Goat cheese
Dry Italian seasoning
Olive oil for brushing (optional)

Directions:

  1. Line baking tray with foil and preheat oven to 400°C
  2. Lightly brush eggplant disks with olive oil, sprinkle with dry Italian seasoning
  3. Top each disc with teaspoon of fresh salsa
  4. Top with chopped spinach and arugula
  5. Top with goat cheese crumbles
  6. Bake in oven for 25 minutes. Turn heat off, let rest in oven for five more minutes
  7. Enjoy
Eggplant disks, season with dry Italian herb seasoning. Photography by Serena Alibhai @serenapeace

From personal experience I know that eggplant is high in water content and absorbs all of oil so I chose not to brush my eggplant discs with olive oil. The little pizzas might be easier to remove after they are cooked if you use olive oil?
Next, top with fresh diced tomatoes or a fresh salsa, like I used. Then you will top with finely chopped spinach and arugula. If you want to add fresh oregano or basil, you can do that here.

Season, add fresh salsa. Photography by Serena Alibhai @serenapeace
Sprinkle chopped arugula and spinach onto your little pizzas. Photography by Serena Alibhai @serenapeace
Photography and food stying by Serena Alibhai @serenapeace 

I chose to use goats cheese next. Mozzarella would go great here as well.

Goat cheese crumble on top. Photography & food styling by Serena Alibhai @serenapeace

After baking these had an amazing flavor. The texture was soft and delectable. I was surprised at how well these turned out. It’s definitely something I would pull out for a dinner party because they are so easy to make, healthy and taste so delicious.

Photography by Serena Alibhai @serenapeace 

Thank you to all my blogger friends for suggestions last week on what I should do with my eggplant! You guys were so helpful. I took all of your suggestions and I created something new and delicious!

xxSerena

7 thoughts on “Eggplant baked pizza stacks with tomato, greens and goat cheese”

Leave a Reply

