I bought a beautiful eggplant at the farmers market! What is the healthiest way to eat it?


I often go to the farmers market just to see what looks healthy, delicious and fresh.

Most of the time I have a recipe in mind. Sometimes I don’t. Today I just went in wanting to buy fresh fruits and vegetables.

The aubergine, or eggplant, looked especially irresistible.

 

Eggplant, red cabbage and Anjou pears from the farmer’s marker. Photography by Serena Alibhai @serenapeace

I thought maybe I could make a healthy moussaka, an eggplant dip, roasted eggplant bites or a stuffed eggplant. ย There is no doubt eggplant is nutritious.


But what is a healthy and delicious way of cooking this eggplant?


It’s a beauty. What would you do? I want healthy ways of cooking this gorgeous eggplant please!

Let me know your ideas in the comments section ๐Ÿ™‚

xxSerena

11 thoughts on “I bought a beautiful eggplant at the farmers market! What is the healthiest way to eat it?”

  1. I don’t like pizza but many do. You can slice the aubergine and then roast the slices on an oiled baking tray. Crisp both sides to make it your mini “pizza” bases. Add whatever toppings you want, bake further and enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. this looks so fresh! you can make an eggplant humus, it tastes great with pita bread … or an indian eggplant mash (saute onion,garlic and tomatoes in olive oil , salt and pepper .then add mashed eggplant to it . for mashing eggplant , you can boil,bake or roast it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Slice it in rounds, dab with a tiny bit of extra virgin olive oil, sprinkle with a little salt & pepper and roast it at 450 degrees F/232 degrees C until tender and slightly browned – you can even turn them over and roast them on both sides – truly delicious! ๐Ÿ™‚ Let us know what you make!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

      1. I’m thanking you now in advance Linda! I just wrote itโ€ฆ It will be up Tuesday! Thank you so much for your help ๐Ÿ™‚ xxSerena :)) my Instagram @serenapeace … has clues ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ˜ฌโค๏ธ

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

