Healthy recipe: paleo flourless gluten free avocado chocolate cookie heaven


The other day I wanted something decadent. Chocolatey. Soft and moist. The melt in your mouth type thing. But I’m being health conscious right now.

When you want a low carb, healthy, flourless treat it’s not easy to just head to the supermarket or the local coffee shop and pick up something decadent.

But that’s what I was craving. I wanted something rich, chocolatey, but with a low glycemic index and no simple carbohydrates. I wanted something sweet, but no white sugar. I wanted the chocolate goodness to melt in my mouth and  close my eyes with sheer happiness. But somewhat clean. I wanted to guarantee what was going into my body, and so I knew it be better if I baked something myself, from scratch. Something delicious, chocolatey, decadent but healthy.

That’s a difficult request.

But someone wise once told me, “there’s always a solution.”

Theres-ALWAYS-a-Solution-to-Your-Problem

So I began researching.

And I found a simple recipe that looked delicious, that I thought I could make. All thanks to a great blog called The Smoothie Lover. I baked them, tried them and was so happy with the results I thought I’d bring this baking fiasco to my own blog! These cookies melted in my mouth, were caky moist pieces of chocolate heaven. Without the guilt.

Ingredients:

2 small avocados, ripe
1/2 cup coconut sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 tablespoons (30 grams)  (I used 85% chocolate broken into pieces and chips)
1 egg
pinch of sea salt

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 175/350 degrees Celcius. Line a baking pan with parchment.
2. Mix avocados, sugar, coco powder, baking soda and chocolate in a mixer. Mix until combined.
3. Add egg and pinch of good quality sea salt. Mix again.
4. Spoon mixture onto parchment lined baking pan.
5. Bake for 10 min. Take out of oven, let cookies rest on hot cookie sheet for 10 minutes. Transfer to cooking rack and cool for another 10 minutes. Store cookies in airtight container in refrigerator for up to 3 days. If they last that long.

Here are the ingredients I used:


Then I began mixing the ingredients. I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer:


          

The cookie batter was very soft. I read that this batter will not flatten down so you would have to smooth it out. I used a spoon to dollop the batter onto the parchment.


When they come out of the oven they are so soft. Don’t touch them. Cool them twice as I explained in the directions: once on the hot rack and then on the cooling rack. I used a spatula to transfer them. They are so soft and cakey they won’t hold up stiff like regular cookies. They are like heavenly pieces of chocolate cake.

 


So easy, and I don’t even feel guilty. Healthy fats, delicious dessert, chocolatey heaven.

Happy baking!

xxSerena

6 thoughts on “Healthy recipe: paleo flourless gluten free avocado chocolate cookie heaven”

    1. That’s awesome. Do let me know how they turned out! I was surprised how easy and how delicious they are! They’re soft like cake and just melt in your mouth. They’re good cold too, right out of the refrigerator.

      xxSerena

      Like

Leave a Reply

