How to beat belly fat


Everyone wants a flat tummy. From my experience the best way is through consistent exercise and clean eating. 

What does that mean? 

By consistent exercise I mean just that. I think a short amount of time regularly, that means every single day, and nothing crazy long or strenuous. I think a lot of people think if they increase the intensity of the exercise they will get fit faster. What I have seen is that this leads to injuries. I believe in slow consistent exercise with the balance between strength conditioning, preferably using your own bodyweight, flexibility training and cardio. 

For flexibility training I think taking at least one yoga class a week is great. A soothing Hatha or Iyengar yoga class is ideal. Breathing is important. Learning to focus and concentrate is vital. 

Remember, you can’t target belly fat. All you can do is exercise and eat nutrient dense whole foods like vegetables, fruit, whole grains, healthy fats and drink lots of water. If you do this, your belly fat will eventually reduce. But all in good time because usually belly fat is the last fat to go! 

Lean sources of protein include fish, chicken, beans and lentils. Healthy fats are raw nuts, avocado and eggs. Whole Foods should be eaten whole again. No need to be scared of the coconut cream inside of a coconut or the yoke inside of an egg! Eat everything, it all came from the tree, all from nature. Just eat. In moderation, and enjoy every bite. 

As for cardio, light jogs, walking in nature, jump rope or swimming are all great. Here is a cheat sheet that may give you some additional helpful tips:

  

The chart says to avoid soluble fiber such as oatbran, citrus and beans. I disagree. I do not believe cutting out citrus such as lemons, limes, oranges and grapefruit is something that you should stop. In fact, I believe the opposite! I believe a grapefruit or orange eaten every day will keep your belly trim and slim! 

I don’t believe everything you read either. A lot of the infographics I post, I think, should be taken with a grain of salt and your own common sense. Listen to your own body. Do what is right for you. Honor yourself!

xxSerena

Leave a Reply

