Recipe: beef and mushroom cottage pie 


I believe cottage pie is traditionally made with lamb. Shepherds pie is ground beef with a mashed potato topping. What I did here was a mixture of both. This cottage pie has three basic ingredients: ground beef, mushrooms and potatoes.

I cooked the beef and potatoes separately as well as seasoned them separately. As for the mushrooms, I cleaned them with a damp paper towel and cut them in half’s or quarters depending on the size.

First you preheat your oven to 350°. Then layer your mushrooms in a baking dish:

 Next, cook regular ground beef with seasoning and diced onion. For seasonings are used one half Mrs. Dash taco seasoning packet because I had 750 kg of beef, not 1 pound. I also added dried Italian herbs. I drained some of the fat midway before adding the onions:
 
I used green onions and diced red onions. 

As the beef was cooking I peeled, diced and boiled five russet potatoes for 10 to 12 minutes:

 
After draining, I returned them into Hot pan with a drizzle of extra-virgin olive oil, 1 teaspoon of dried oregano and 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice.

And then I did my layers. First the mushrooms then on top of the seasoned ground beef. And finally the third layer the potatoes. Bake in a 350° oven for 25 minutes uncovered. 

  
What is your version of this basic dish?

xxSerena

One thought on “Recipe: beef and mushroom cottage pie ”

Leave a Reply

