What are chakras? You may hear about these in a yoga class or in books about yoga philosophy.

There is a lot of detailed information about chakras and their importance. There are seven major chakras, and each of them corresponds with a different color spectrum of light.

There are said to be 21 minor chakras which are reflected off of the major ones.

Seven major chakras:

  1. The root chakra represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded. It is located at the base of the spine, the tailbone. Emotional issues located in this chakra include financial independence, money and food.
  2. The sacral chakra contains our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences. It is located in the lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in. Emotional issues associated with the sacral chakra are a sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure and sexuality.
  3. The solar plexus chakra I is our ability to be confident and in control of our lives. It is located at the upper abdomen in the stomach. Emotional issues residing here are self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem.
  4. The heart chakra motivates our ability to love. It is located at the center of the chest just above the heart. Emotional issues connected to this area are love, joy and inner peace.
  5. The throat chakra contains our ability to communicate. Emotional issues connected to this area are communication, self expression of feelings and the truth.
  6. The third eye chakra is our ability to focus on and see the big picture. It is located on the forehead between the eyes. Emotional issues in this area are intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to Think and make decisions.
  7. Crown chakra is the highest chakra and represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. It is located at the very top of the head. Emotional issues include inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality and pure bliss.

Here is an infographic on chakras you might be interested in:


What do you know about chakras? Have you had any experiences worth sharing? Leave a comment or question. I would love to learn more.



One thought on “Chakras”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s