What are negative calorie foods?


Have you ever heard that it takes more energy to eat celery than The number of calories it contains? That means celery is a negative calorie food. You’re actually burning calories eating it. So by eating celery, you’re actually losing weight?!?

It sounds crazy but these foods are not only slimming but also provide your body with antioxidants, nutrients, minerals and fiber. They often also keep you full for longer. I can’t help but think to one of my favourite childhood novels by Roald Dahl, “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory,” where Charlie’s family was so poor they ate cabbage soup everyday.

cabbage soup

No wonder his grandparents lived so long. They were also quite thin, loving and positive. It’s in the book, ok? I’m not making this up. But let’s get back to negative calorie foods…

Now please guys. I’m not saying to exclusively eat negative calorie foods. There is something to be said for balanced eating. But do add these foods to your every day diet:

Weight watchers has some excellent 0 cal soup recipes. Of course the soups have calories, but the meal is so good for you that they see you can eat as much of it as you want, and still lose weight.

One variation on one of these negative calorie soups is something I like to eat once every month if I am trying to lose fat. I add a teaspoon of oil to my soup pot and sautรฉ 1/2 cup each onions, carrots, celery for five minutes on medium to high heat. Then I add purรฉed or minced garlic. I add 3 cups of nonfat vegetable or beef broth and one cup water. Then I add half a cinnamon stick, a teaspoon of black pepper balls and a bay leaf.

Then I add my negative calorie vegetables: chopped cabbage, peas, chopped carrots, finally chopped spinach or kale or escarole, chopped zucchini, a chopped tomato, or any other chopped vegetable I think would be delicious. Sometimes I will add soaked lentils like French split peas, yellow peas or mung beans. I simmer the soup for about half an hour, covered on low heat. I add basil, oregano, cilantro, green chili, garlic pepper or salt and pepper to taste.

These foods keep you full for longer, and if your goal is to lose fat you should try making one of these negative calorie food soups or eating more negative calorie foods daily:

How many negative calorie foods do you think you eat in a week? What are your favorite negative calorie foods? Leave me a comment or question and I’ll get back to you!

Eat happy, eat clean. Live as long as Charlie Bucket’s grandparents ๐Ÿ™‚

xxSerena

 

Leave a Reply

