Intermittent Fasting: benefits, schedule and eating


I found a helpful infographic on mercola.com on intermittent fasting. Let me know if this helps you by leaving a comment on this blog! 

I know it says you should be eating green vegetables, nuts, free range chicken. It says you should be getting your fats from the yolks and the eggs, butter, coconut oil and avocado. But come on. Let’s get real. Sometimes a girl wants a burger and fries. She wants a big bowl of pasta or a tuna sandwich with mayo and pickles on the side.. Or both. And after a few months of intermittent fasting, I was eating whatever I wanted. For those of you who already intermittent fast: did you lose fat by keeping your calorie count or by eating clean foods?

It’s important to not give up. So my priority is keeping your eating window between six and eight hours if you are new to intermittent fasting. This will give your body optimal time to burn fat slowly. So that’s why I’m a little bit more lax when it comes to the food choices. I really think you should eat what you want. As long as you are counting your calories after calculating your BMR & BMI.

But check out the infographic, and let me know what you think:



This may provide a little more structure for those of you wondering about times or foods or the benefits of intermittent fasting.

Let me know if this helps you. In the meantime, best of luck and happy fasting! Read my other blogs on intermittent fasting for more information on how to start. If you have any questions leave them as a comment and I will get back to you!

xxSerena

9 thoughts on “Intermittent Fasting: benefits, schedule and eating”

  1. Hi,

    I’m wondering…….

    How does fasting between breakfast and dinner work? I ask because I’m pre-diabetic. A1C was 6.1. I never was a B-fast person but since testing every morning, my FBS runs 100-125. The longest I waited to eat was till bout 1030 and my FBS was at 143!! I decided not to wait to long so my BS wouldn’t keep rising. Now I’m slowly breaking myself in with the LCHF diet. I’m doing good with low carbs but the high fat is something I’m trying to get use to. I’m not in ketosis yet but will be soon enough. So, do you think fasting between bfast and dinner good with water and 2 cups of coffee with coconut oil and exercise in between too???

    TIA (:

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s interesting. I wonder, though, about the health benefits you read about eating breakfast. “The most important meal of the day…” and “The number one habit of healthy people…” Except that sometimes once I eat breakfast, it starts the sugar cycle (even if that sugar is from fruit). I will be thinking on this. I have not heard of this Intermittent Fasting before…. Thanks for the info.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought the same way about eating breakfast at 10am! I’ve found though, that when I’m adjusted to intermittent fasting, my body is naturally ready to eat around that time and no sooner. Your body will find its own rhythm. Intermittent fasting is an excellent eating method because it allows your body to actually process food and utilize all of the nutrients while also using up stores of energy/fat. Eating healthy foods will boost your ability to I.F.. Letting your body fully digest the food allows your body to then burn fat because the insulin levels are low since there is no food coming into the body to be processed. Success lies in giving your body at least a full 12-16 hour cycle of no food, which is contrary to the “craving to eat” feeling that repetitive and easy simple carb-laden meals will emotionally pull you toward eating again. You are allowing your body to eat or use its fat stores and de-tox. A “normal” eating schedule (snacking and three meals spread out) does not allow your body to enter into this fat burning stage because not enough time has passed for your body to dip into its reserves. You consume the same amount of food, but in a shorter window of time of your choosing.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I have no time for Mercola and his claims, especially that some food is inherently “good” and other food is inherently “bad”, but I do agree that a short fast every now and then is good for you. If nothing else, it makes your food taste so much better when you finally get to have it!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

