Healthy Chili


It’s healthy to cook at home. You have control of the fat and sodium.

I told my dear friend I would cook for her last night but as lofty as my initial goal was, it wasn’t as realistic time wise. I’ll do what I initially planned for another time. What ended up happening was a healthy chili. Very simple ingredients. A lot of cans. This is definitely a pantry recipe.

I started off browning the meat, I used extra lean beef. I used that because that’s what I had at home but next time I’m going to buy regular because someone told me that it is better quality. Something about extra lean having come from older cows? If you know anything about that please leave me a comment. So next time I’ll buy regular, and just drain the fat before adding other ingredients.

I added diced chili, onions and one finely diced tomato along with the spices like garlic pepper, garlic and herb, and dried Italian spices to the meat. I cooked that about 15 minutes over medium to high heat before adding puréed garlic.

Next, I added one can of drained sliced mushrooms. Now, typically I would use fresh. But I was making this in a hurry and I used what I had:

 

Next, I rinsed canned red kidney beans, black beans, and added that. I like to wash the gunk off. Usually I would use diced tomatoes from the can here. But I only had crushed. So I decided to use crushed and then I added a special can of diced tomatoes at the end. So just dump all those in:

 

So at this point I still have the burners at medium high. After cooking for about 20 more minutes I finally add a smaller can of diced tomatoes:

 

And then the wine came out:

We topped it with no fat Greek yogurt and that was a great substitution. Usually I would go for sour cream but there was no need. The yogurt tasted perfect. And of course Tabasco to taste.



 We both really liked it. We ate it with Mary’s gone organic crackers. How do you make your chili? Was this recipe shocking or unacceptable? Leave me a comment!

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

1 pound ground sirloin or beef
One small onion finely chopped
One small jalapeno finely chopped
One small tomato finely chopped
One can sliced mushrooms
One large can crushed tomatoes
One can black beans, drained and rinsed
One can red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
One can good-quality diced tomatoes
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon garlic pepper
1 teaspoon dried basil
Half teaspoon ground cumin
Salt-and-pepper to taste

Directions:

Fry meat with diced onion, spices, tomato and jalapeño for 20 minutes under medium high heat. Add mushrooms, canned beans and tomatoes. Add more spices to taste as needed. Simmer under medium low for one hour. Stir frequently.

Serves 4

Leave a Reply

