How intermittent fasting gave me more time & what I did with it


When I started eating the bulk of my calories within an eight-hour window I noticed a few advantages right away. I had more energy, I was losing fat in stubborn areas like my waistline and I was drinking more water. I was finally recognizing my thirst for what it was: thirst, not hunger!ย ย But the most important thing that intermittent fasting gave me was more time. It gave me time to concentrate on other goals, activities, relaxing, catching up with friends. I knew I wasn’t going to be eating. As a result, I focused on other things. As intermittent fasting became a habit in my life, I didn’t spend every 15 minutes wondering what I should snack on. I wasn’t opening the fridge, looking.

What I did at night, however, was make lunch for the next day. And for me, a big salad at work made a huge difference. Breaking my fast with a salad of a lot of chopped greens, a protein, fat usually avocado, a squeeze of lemon or apple cider vinegar, and a sprinkle of sunflower seeds worked for my body. Sometimes I would add cottage cheese, marinated chickpeas or a colorful vegetable.

Here’s a good guideline for making your own salad:

What’s your favorite salad? Do you meal prep? Leave me a question or comment!

3 thoughts on “How intermittent fasting gave me more time & what I did with it”

Leave a Reply

