Three foods to keep you lean


Ok my buddy Alif sent another super good comment that I think deserves a post. He wrote:

Day 2 of IF complete. 2 questions I hope you can answer. The first is with a job such as a Sales Manager at BMW Gallery (selfish plug sorry) it is hard for me to take in all the calories I require in the 8 hour window. I know you are anti-supplements but is a protein shake better than not taking in enough calories? Any other tips for the busy body to intake the โ€œrightโ€ calories? Second question is some critics say that IF for males is bad because it eats away at muscle mass. Is this true?
Thank you for your help

I answered him in my reply but I wanted to elaborate on some of these topics. firstly, the “right” calories. i’m not a nutritionist. I’m just a 40-year-old woman with a bunch of girlfriends all over the world. i’ve been working out for years and we’ve been discussing diet and exercise our whole lives.

Tips for the busy body to intake the “right” calories would depend on the person’s goals. Lets say your goals are to lose excess fat and gain muscle. I have chosen three foods that will keep you lean and allow you to build muscle:

1. Oatmeal

IMG_1391

 

Oatmeal is a nutrient dense food with lots of vitamins. It regulates blood sugar and keeps you full for longer. It’s a good healthy fuel.

2. Salad

IMG_0883

When I say salad, I mean heavy on the greens. I don’t mean a small bowl with a few salad leaves in the middle. I mean two or three heaping handfulls, chopped, so they get smaller and bitesized so you you can eat more and lots. Salad greens have very few calories so you need a LARGE amount.

3. Chicken breast

chicken breast

 

Chicken breast is low in fat and high in protein. So after a workout it’s good because the muscles need protein to build. Plus it’s another nutrient dense food. It keeps you full for longer.

Now, by no means should you only eat these three foods. But if you want to lean out and gain muscle, these three will help. I can’t stress vegetables enough too though. Other great choices include vegetables of all colours, fresh fruits, sweet potatoes, lean fish and beans.

What do you think of these three foods? Do you agree? Disagree? Leave me a question or comment below. Happy working out and eating right Fitfam!

xxSerena

One thought on “Three foods to keep you lean”

Leave a Reply

