How to start intermittent fasting


Some of you have never done IF before. Some of you are experts. If you’ve never done it before and you like to give it a try, here are some helpful tips for your first fast:

IMG_1112

I like the idea of eating a protein, preferably lean, such as tilapia or chicken breast, with greens at night. And when I say greens, I mean a lot of greens. Eat a cup or two. This will fill you up with nutrients and it is very low in calories. But any protein with vegetable is an optimal food for weight loss at night.  Sometimes I love a steak with potatoes, or fish with a huge green salad or chicken with sauteed vegetables like asparagus, peppers or mushrooms.

Here are some good ideas for dinner. Here we have a beef tenderloin with lightly sautéed spinach seasoned with the sodium free Mrs. Dash:

IMG_1220-3

Chicken with broccoli fills you up and keeps you trim:

IMG_1222

Tilapia with green beans is fast, low in fat and high in protein:

IMG_1221

Steak with sautéed mushrooms is delicious and a great post workout dinner:

IMG_1219

I also like the idea that removing the option of eating (at night) gives you the perfect opportunity to take a yoga class or go for a walk with someone you want to connect with. Maybe you can start reading that book you meant to get into. Maybe it’s time to start meditating or sorting that annoying pile of papers on the kitchen table.

During the night, when you are in your fasting window and not meant to eat anything with calories, make a soothing cup of green tea or herbal tea instead of water. In the mornings after I wake up I generally drink some matcha green tea since it doesn’t have calories. This feels great to my body. My brain feels more clear, sharp.

Do you agree with the tips above? Let me know. Leave me a comment or question and I’ll reply!

9 thoughts on “How to start intermittent fasting”

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting! IF has helped me achieve my goals. I have not checked out the Bulletproof Diet. Are there any links in particular I should go to first? Sounds interesting!

      xxSerena

      Like

    1. I understand that. I also have “triggers.” At night, I like to munch and crunch on some empty calories. It’s a hurdle, but I found when I wanted to lose fat, I got through the first couple of days and I could see results slowly in my body … that motivated me to keep to my fast and reach for a cool glass of water before going to sleep .. instead of chocolate, chips or whatever other junky goodness hanging out in my kitchen 🙂

      Thank you for the comment Shantiepc!

      xxSerena

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Day 2 of IF complete. 2 questions I hope you can answer. The first is with a job such as a Sales Manager at BMW Gallery (selfish plug sorry) it is hard for me to take in all the calories I require in the 8 hour window. I know you are anti-supplements but is a protein shake better than not taking in enough calories? Any other tips for the busy body to intake the “right” calories? Second question is some critics say that IF for males is bad because it eats away at muscle mass. Is this true?
    Thank you for your help

    Like

    1. Awesome I know where I need to go if I buy a BMW.

      Unless you are at 7% body fat… I wouldn’t worry about your body eating your muscle mass because the body doesn’t do that. The body eats the fat which surrounds the muscles before it goes anywhere near muscle. And to get to the muscle you’d have to fast for over two days… To even get there… And you won’t be doing that with intermittent fasting. as for the shakes, yes it’s convenient so if you are desperate go for it. It’s ideal to eat a lean protein fresh vegetables and complex carbs like oatmeal. So should you be eating burgers and fries and chips and cookies and cakes? No. Those things are high in fat. Remember you need enough protein when you were working out to build the muscle. I think a rough guideline, at least for me, is 1 g of protein per pound of body weight. So if you weigh hundred and 50 pounds, aim for around 150 g of protein a day for maximum muscle gain because you’re lifting those weights in the gym or you were doing some kind of strength training.

      If you’re trying to lose fat and gain muscle then that’s approximately 2000 cal I’m guessing… That is two or three large meals. so what I would do is try for 1000 cal at lunch…and then another thousand for dinner. For me I was eating less than that so I would get maybe 700 cal at lunch and another thousand or 1100 for dinner.

      At the end of the day, you do what you can do. This is only advice and one way of doing things. I wish you super luck!

      xxSerena

      Like

Leave a Reply

