Intermittent fasting, part two


My friend Alif left a comment with some great questions about Intermittent fasting yesterday on my first intermittent blog post.

He wrote:

Alif
FEBRUARY 17, 2015 AT 1:33 PM
What if you wake up at 4am? Should you make sure you sleep during the not eating window?
For a morning workout, is a pre-workout drink ok? Or is it Zero calories during the 16 hour no eating window. How clean do you eat during the 8 hours?

Thanks in advance.

Part of your “non-eating window” as he calls it (the time when you are not eating, or “fasting” window) Part of these hours is the time you were sleeping. So 16 hour fast may sound like a long time, but it’s not. It’s not because 7 to 10 hours of that “fasting” time is when you are fast asleep. So yes, you are sleeping during the 16 hour fasting window.

So no matter what time you get up, and I do give kudos to him for waking up at 4 AM because that is discipline! but no matter what time you get upโ€ฆ You will prolong the fast to add hours where you are not eating. Let’s say you were one of those people who has to eat first thing in the morning. If you are one of those people then you will stop eating early in the evening so hours and hours before you go to sleep. so you have added hours to your fast, the time you were sleeping, before you sleep.

What I do is add a few hours after I sleep and add a few hours before I sleep and that is how I fast. So that means I don’t eat right away after I wake up. And it means I stop eating a few hours before bedtime.

Now about the pre-workout drink. I don’t believe in supplements anymore. I like to keep it natural. I have protein powder and sometimes I’ll make protein pancakes using a gluten fee pancake mix with some protein powder in it or sometimes if I’ve worked out really hard and I want to make sure I get proteins my muscles I’ll drink some whey isolate. But that is very rare. I believe in good clean REAL food. I believe that is most optimal.

And for the last question, how clean do I eat when I break my fast? Are usually break my fast with something clean. For me that is a salad with chicken breast and avocado. No dressing accept a squeeze of lemon or a splash of apple cider vinegar. sometimes I will break my fast with a banana and peanut butter. Sometimes I will break my fast with chocolate milk that I will drink after my workout. Sometimes if I know I’m lean and I feel my body needs it I will eat white rice, a protein and vegetables. Here are some examples of post workout meals but I have broken my fast with:

IMG_9679

IMG_0237

IMG_0272

IMG_1391

IMG_8032

IMG_8480

A friend of mine who is 50 years old and very beautiful and fit told me that she eats whatever she wants but make sure she eats at least two vegetables every single day, different colors, and two fruits every single day, two different colors.

What do you eat when you want to lose fat? What do you eat when you want to gain muscle? What does “eating clean” mean for you? Leave a comment below!

Until the next post, I wish you good restorative sleep, a day full of love and a strong lean healthy body.

xxSerena

IMG_1197

One thought on “Intermittent fasting, part two”

Leave a Reply

