Macaroni


Brown rice macaroni with ricotta greens and chicken breast

This baked pasta dish is made with brown rice macaroni which I pre-boiled for five minutes before adding to the casserole dish. I preheated my oven to 350°. I chopped 2 cups of fresh spinach and arugula to start. I’d buy it washed and organic from the supermarket:

IMG_0883
Then I added my boiled pasta, pesto, ricotta cheese, fresh oregano, salt and pepper:

IMG_0892

IMG_0894

I would add cheese, the stringy mozzarella kind or a sharp cheddar maybe here. But I am watching my macros and I wanted to keep the fat low.

I packed the mixture into a baking dish. I put this into the oven for 30 minutes at 350° covered. After I packed it drizzled some olive oil on top.

IMG_0898

The brown rice pasta came out perfect. The flavors were great, I’m glad I didn’t add any strong cheese to this because the salt n pepper just brought out the natural flavors of the chicken, herbs, pesto and arugula.

IMG_0920

This was such an easy recipe. It came out of the oven totally delicious. And I don’t feel guilty because it’s high in protein, has good carbs and is low in fat.

Ingredients:
2 cups boiled brown rice pasta
2 cups ricotta cheese
2 tablespoons fresh oregano
1 teaspoon garlic pepper
2 tablespoons pesto
1 cup rotisserie chicken breast
2 cups fresh spinach arugula chopped
Olive oil to taste
Salt-and-pepper to taste

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°. Drizzle 1 teaspoon olive oil in a casserole dish. Add slightly cooked macaroni, chopped chicken breast, chopped spinach and arugula, ricotta cheese, chopped arugula, garlic pepper, pesto and salt-and-pepper to taste. Mix. Cover. Bake for 30 minutes. Enjoy carefully because it’s hot!

Leave a Reply

